Oz

Volume 14 Article 12

1-1-1992

Contributors

Follow this and additional works at: https://newprairiepress.org/oz



This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 4.0 License.

Recommended Citation

(1992) "Contributors," Oz: Vol. 14. https://doi.org/10.4148/2378-5853.1239

This Back Matter is brought to you for free and open access by New Prairie Press. It has been accepted for inclusion in Oz by an authorized administrator of New Prairie Press. For more information, please contact cads@k-state.edu.

Contributors

Douglas Darden received his Masters of Architecture with distinction from the Harvard University Graduate School of Design. He has taught design and representation at Columbia and Harvard and currently teaches at the University of Colorado at Denver. Darden's work has been published in international periodicals, including A+U, SD, and Daidalos. He has received numerous grants and awards including the Rome Prize in 1988. In 1992, Darden's rhetorical projects will be published by Princeton Architectural Press in a treatise entitled Condemned Building.

Neil M. Denari was born in Fort Worth, Texas in 1957. He received a Bachelor of Architecture in 1980 from the University of Houston and a Master of Architecture from Harvard University in 1982 while also studying the philosophy of science. In the fall of 1982 he lived in Paris and worked at the Aerospatiale Helicoptres rotor blade factory in La Courneuve. Subsequently, he moved to New York City where, from 1983 to 1987 he produced conjectural projects and competitions, worked professionally, and taught at Columbia University. Denari established his own studio, COR-TEX, in 1986, and from 1988 to the present has resided in Los Angeles, where he teaches at the Southern California Institute of Architecture. In addition to being a finalist in the 1988 West Coast Gateway Competition, he recently received third prize in the Tokyo International Forum Competition. He is currently at work on

a book of his own buildings and texts entitled *Gyroscopic Horizons*, to be published by Princeton Architectural Press.

Tony Duncan and Todd Powers received their Bachelor of Architecture degrees from Kansas State University in 1991. Shown are final projects from fifth-year studios led by Assistant Professor Michael McNamara and Associate Professor James Jones.

Ramulus Gatapia, Don Keenan, and Tanin Pongsalamanee are fourth-year students at Kansas State University. Their projects were completed in a studio led by Robert Condia. Jeffrey Prose is a third-year student. His project was completed under critics Wendy Ornelas and Matthew Knox.

Dan Hoffman is Head of the Department of Architecture at the Cranbrook Academy of Art. He has taught widely at universities in Canada and the United States.

Toyo Ito was born in Seoul in 1941. In 1965 he graduated from the Tokyo University Department of Architecture. From 1965 to 1969 he was employed by Kiyonori Kikutake, Architect and Associates. In 1971, he established Urban Robot (Urbot) in Tokyo, changing the name to Toyo Ito and Associates, Architect in 1979.

Matthew Knox received his Bachelor of Architecture from Kansas State University in 1987 and his Master of Architecture from the University of Virginia in 1990. He is currently an Assistant Professor of Architecture at Kansas State University. The house illustrated received First Award in the "Remembrance and Transformation Design Competition" sponsored by the AIA Iowa and *Iowa Architecture* in 1991.

Michael Linenbroker, and Bennet Stindt will receive Bachelor of Architecture degrees from Kansas State University in 1991. Their projects were completed in a fifth-year studio led by Assistant Professor Vladimir Krstic.

Reinhold Martin received his Bachelor of Architecture from Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute and a Diploma in History and Theory from the Architectural Association in London. He is currently an Adjunct Assistant Professor at Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute and serves as the New York correspondent to the journal *ARCH-TEXT*.

Henry Plummer is a professor of architecture at the University of Illinois, where he teaches design and theory. He is currently visiting the University of Oregon as the Frederick Charles Baker Professor of Light. Recipient of Graham Fellowships, a Delmas Fellowship, and the Lawrence Anderson Award, his books include *Poetics of Light* and *The Potential House*.

Ryoji Suzuki was born in Tokyo in 1944. After graduation from Waseda

University he worked at Takenaka Corporation and in the office of Fumihiko Maki. In 1977 he organized Ryoji Suzuki, Architect and Partners. His recent work includes a series of buildings known collectively as *Experience in Architecture*, an architectural installation entitled "Dislocational Architecture," and second prize in the Japanese Maison de la Culture Competition in Paris.

Lebbeus Woods is a Visiting Professor of Architecture at the Cooper Union in New York City. In 1988 he founded the Research Institute for Experimental Architecture (RIEA) dedicated to applied research in, and the support and encouragement of experimental architecture. Monographs on his work include *Origins*, *Centricity*, and *One Five Four*.

ISSN 0888-7802

Copyright Oz, Journal of the College of Architecture and Design, Kansas State University, 1992. Text and illustrations may not be reproduced without written permission. Inquiries concerning back issues and financial contributions should be addressed to: Managing Editor, Oz, College of Architecture and Design, Seaton Hall, Kansas State University, Manhattan, Kansas 66506.

Donations

Underwriters

Department of Architecture, KSU Dixie and Robert Junk

Benefactors

Brent Bowman and Associates Architects, PA Kay and Chuck Dawson Ellerbe Becket Henry and Glenora Mitchell

Patrons
AIA Kansas
BNIM Architects Inc.
Calcara Duffendack Foss & Manlove Inc.
Civitas Group
Larry and Marcia Hilberg
Jamie Cannon Associates, Inc.
HOK Sports Facilities Group
Mr. and Mrs. Fay Jones
Eugene and Lilian Kremer
Helen J. Maib, AIA
Masonry Institute of St. Louis
Slemmons Associates, Architects
Raymond Streeter

WRS Architects

Donors

Claybaugh Architects Inc. F. Gene Ernst Richard and Penny Forsyth Joan and Kirk Gastinger Gossen Livingston Associates, PA Gould Evans Associates PC Hardy Holzman Pfeiffer Associates Daniel Herr Charles W. Hight Marvin and Joan Linenbroker William Miller, AIA Platt, Adams, Braht, Bradley Architects Karl Puljak Dr. Stuart W. Rose, AIA Shaughnessy Fickel and Scott Architects Inc. Douglas E. Stevens, AIA Richard and Nancy Suda John D. Sulton Varney's Book Store

Friends

Catherine Alington Barbara G. Anderson William R. Anderson Jon and Sally Baird Eugene and Thelma Barkley Joseph N. Biondo, AIA Christopher H. Bohnert Lance Braht Yasmin Bugaighis Mark Eric Chaney Anthony and Carole Chelz David W. Clarke Dana and Joleen Cunningham John Lawrence Daw Denise DiPiazzo Richard C. Easter Brad Elliott K. Scott Enns Darrold and Ruth Fajarit-Davis John Freshnock Jay and Jennifer Frogness John L. Gaar Gordon & Associates Architects, PA Linda Hall Russel S. Hamlet **HBE** Corporation Kevin C. Heath George M. Holton Jr. Steven and Cathi House Jeni Kardinal Chet Lockard Jr. Michael T. Mahaney James McCullar & Associates Richard D. McDermott Dick McDonald Craig M. Milde Kevin and Kristi Nolan Lyn Norris-Baker

Gwen Owens-Wilson

Stanley M. Parks Photographics Inc. Richard W. and Joanne C. Polhman Martin A. Rangel Robert R. Rosenfeld Craig Schultz Don and Phyllis Schultz Schwerdt Design Group, Inc. Frank Scicchitano Bryan and Lois Sechrist Brenda R. Spencer Bennet J. and Linda Stindt Herald and Agnes Stindt Julieanna A. Stindt Dean Sutton Burton S. Visnick Douglas P. Walter David L. Weaver Cynthia Weese William F. Yarger